I always chase opportunities but when they come I break down.

Hi. I never thought I would post something like this but I guess I am really, really scraping the bottom of the barrel.

I am a 29 male with a problem: I am very intelligent but every little problem destroys me. Years ago I got a masters degree and I landed a pretty good job - amazing if you consider it financially. However, it was the opposite of my passions. I thought let's just try it for a year or two so I can save up some money but I found myself resigning after 15 days. Me, the funny guy, always ready to joke, became a crying ghost. I cried every morning when I woke up, in the car, in the bathroom at work and especially after work because I immediately started to think about the next day. I quit and my parents were incredibly mad - but we are financially sound so it was more of a emotional delusion.

My family has a business - I hated it as a teenager but every passing year it looks a bit better to me. It is also quite a luxury I have to say - you don't have to look for a job, you can just stay there and work. Maybe that's something that spoiled me.

After that job, I started to work in the family business but I kept fantasizing about getting a PhD. I tried and tried and tried but applications were going nowhere. Finally, someone accepted me. Do you believe me that the most fear I have ever felt was when they said 'yes, you are in, we'll send you the contract to sign in two weeks' ?