Reconnecting with a lost friend/SO

Themanwithaplan

Hi, I've only been with one girl that I ever felt I had an un replaceable connection and relationship with. That's why it's hard for me to accept leaving her in my past. I'll try to keep this as short as possible:

I met this woman the year I graduated high school, she was already a sophomore at a prestigious university. We met at a party and she ended up getting my number through a friend, called, and asked me out! I was so in to her and she was so in to me. We had an amazing time just hanging out doing nothing and also went out and did cool things all the time. Everything was so effortless and natural. Polar opposites, but shared all the right interests. It was amazing. Fast forward two years:

We basically live together at this point, I still have an apartment but I'm at her place 6/7 days a week and sometimes 7/7. Things are as good as ever and I go away with friends to a music festival for the weekend. I ask if she wants to come and she does, but has a final Friday and can't. That little test altered the course of the rest of our lives...

I get back to town Monday morning and turn on my phone(no service at the music venue) to a distressed sounding voicemail from her telling me something had happened and asking me to call her immediately. I call her and my worst fear is realized: on her way home from school Friday evening, somebody followed her into the lobby of her apartment building. Without saying anything, he pins her against the wall, and chokes/strangles her until she became unconscious. You can figure the rest out.

My life as I know it changed that day. My whole perception of reality shifted. It shattered her and it shattered me. We both ended up wanting to deal with our depression in different ways which drove us apart. We ended it almost a year later.