I'm drowning in failure, how to get my head back up again?

Sorry for the rant, I feel like I'm going to die with everything bottled up inside me. Just skim through if you feel like it's too long.

Things are basically good. I got excellent academic results and a scholarship to study a foundation course of my choice at a prestigious college. My parents gave me the green light to move to another state so I can go to that college, even though they didn't want to at first. I am independent and survived pretty well seeing as this is my first time away from home for a long period (2 years), without family or friends there.

I have been here for a month and have made new friends at my college. Relationships with housemates are quite good too, and most of my lecturers are fantastic. Coursemates are fun-loving yet studious people. Seniors have been extremely helpful and nice. I have joined a few college activities to keep myself busy and I've been balancing everything much better than the others.

So why do I feel like I'm drowning in failure? First, I don't feel like I'm charismatic enough. I don't aim to be the most charismatic person in the class or anything, but I feel like I'm the backdrop all the time. I find no niche of my own, no place among everyone. I wasn't very popular back in high school but at least I have a couple of very close friends and I know my place in the school. But now it's like I can't match their frequency. Perhaps it's because I'm in a different environment altogether.

I even thought of applying for a high position in some of the committees of the activities I joined and am passionate about. But when I see my competitors being so good at capturing the hearts of the people in charge, it made me feel very insignificant, although I am as efficient and capable, I am just not that charismatic or forward. I'm not shy, but I'm a little quiet...