College student who misses high school -- what can I do?

Hi. I'm not sure where to post so feel free to move this post somewhere else if it'd be better suited there.

I am a third year college student, attending a university about one hour away from my hometown where I grew up and went to high school. The last couple years of my high school years were what I consider to be the best of my life thus far. Life was pretty simple -- just take care of my grades, and I did fine in school. I was usually doing something on weekends and often after school during the week with friends, and in my senior year I entered my first relationship, which lasted about a year (ending at the end of my first college semester). I was on the drumline and enjoyed it. During my "high school years", my social life was satisfying for me.

Once college started up, at first I felt comfortable because I was still with my girlfriend who went to the same college, and we spent a lot of time together during my first semester. However, she moved on after establishing some friends, and it wasn't really until then that I realized that in spending all this time with her, I really had not made any friends. After I "got over" the break up, I cheered up and wouldn't have considered myself "depressed" -- but at the same time I felt very... idle. I spent (and still do, to be honest) most of my time alone watching TV, using the computer, etc. For a while, it was nice after being in a relationship to take some time off, but quickly it became something that got me down on occasion.

Now, starting my third year of college, I am fairly happy from day to day, which usually consists of going to class and doing homework, which keeps me busy enough to keep my mind off of my lack of a social life. I have some friends in my hometown who I hang out with on weekends if I drive home, but I just would rather not have to drive home to prevent from being bored on weekends.