are we incompatible? or is it something more?

blahdeeblah

hello....i'm not really sure where to start......my bf and i have been together 3 years and are both close to 30 now. basically, i'm scared we want different things and/or something is completely imbalanced.

1) i feel like he makes all the rules and sets ALL the limits. he will be in a position very soon where he will be making a lot money and i'm scared this will only make things worse. my profession is in design and i'll most likely never make more than a very measely salary.

there are paths i have considered pursuing....set design (for movie sets) is one. however, from talking to individuals in that line of work, you can potentially be away for very long periods of time...like 6 months with only a day off every week or so and in a location away from home. bf says no to this..."a relationship doesn't work like that". he says i can pursue it, but i'll have to make a choice - that or him. however, the line of work he is getting into requires him to be on the road every week and work very long hours. i will see him on the weekends, basically. and his long term goals are that he wants to move into politics after that....doing something that requires very long hours and travel, again.

if i raise any objection to this, he gets really upset, tells me i'm not being supportive, and says that no one is going to hold him back. yet, i feel held back by him. when i remind him that i let go of pursuing something i was interested in, he says "b/c 6 months is unreasonable." and "i'm ok with seeing you less often if it means also having other things i want. that's MY limit and i think that IS reasonable". according to him, it's HIS time and he owes none of it to anyone....but the same sure doesn't seem to apply to me and MY time.