dating after divorce ..Trouble with boyfriend's son

onandonandon

This is my first time posting here.............I am divorced and have three beautiful children........and they really like my boyfriend.

He is kind, honest....etc etc.....great with kids......EXEPT.....his 10 year old son is really causing stress in our relationship!!!!!

My boyfriend has custody of him....and his mother for the most part has abdonned him.......she saw him twice last year and only lives 30 miles away. She is remarried and has a new baby girl (she is 47 years old)

any way......the son and I got along great at first then ....the digs started in.....He gives his father the fith degree almost every time I see his dad or spend some time at there farm....My boyfriend does talk to him about respect and treating my nicely....but this has gone on and on for a good 8 months now.....It has really confused my boyfriend........and then there is the matter of my three kids....they are 11, 8 and 5 and they all like mark...they think his son is"ok"..."but he takes over everything",,,,,,,,,,

I don't want to lose this lovely man.......but this kid needs to face reality......................

any IDEAS????????????

This man's child will always be number one to him so just accept that.

The child is terrified, however, that your three kids are going to take over his place in the family pecking order if dad gets serious with you. I think a good, heart to heart talk between father and son might help a little. But you have to understand this kid's one screwed up and confused dude. He was abandoned by his mother, who now has a baby who is lots more important than him...and he is seeing you and your children as taking over the last vestage of unconditional love and support he has in the world.