My little girl is leaving for a week

:(

My daughter is leaving tomorrow to go to Idaho to stay with my mom for a week. The thing is, this is my first time for her to go, and shes 19mos. I am flying w/ her and flying back to AZ the next day.

Do kids that young get sad after awhile of their moms being apart from them? I know my mom and siblings will make sure she is happy, but I am a young mom (25) and it is making me sad thinking of my little girl missing me.

How to parents get through this?

You will miss her more than she will miss you as long as she is getting Grandma's attention. I went on my first business trip away from my son when he was 8 months old, left him with my Mom. He was fine the entire week but when he met me at the airport he clung to me for dear life. He knew who Mommy was.

How do you get through it? Stay busy. Do adult stuff that you might not get to do with your child around. Realize that it is good for both of you to be separate occasionally.

• Author

Thank you for your reply. I almost want to cry when I think about it. My H and I are planning on a few dates but I guess it's only a week :rolleyes:

thanks

Miss_Behavin143

supermom? I know this is probably not quite the same, but my daughter is 18 months old... and her daddy and I have been separated a year.

She has just started spending every other weekend with him Friday 6pm - Sunday at 6pm... and before this ... she'd never stayed with him because he was deployed her whole life and left as soon as he got back... and she'd never been away from me! Nor.. had I been away from her. lol By the way, I'm also a young mother.. 21.