Should I bring up the missing money to my nephew?

Hi..I'm in a dilemma about the following issue, principally speaking, first of all. Two months ago my sister urged me to apply together for the British visa, since also her English is inexistent. I didn't want to at first due to the high expenses. She and her son said that all the costs - including the 110 $ plane ticket - will be covered by the nephew.

Due to some procedural changes, which we didn't know earlier, we had to pay an extra 95 $ on the interview day. I covered all the expenses myself. My sister didn't receive the visa. I did. My nephew returned to me today the amount in British currency but if that converted results into minus 35 $ related to today's exchange rate...

Nothing about 95$ either. Either my sister forgot to signal him properly, or he considered it unnecessary, since I am staying at his place for 4 nights, and taking care of me here.

(Well, as a student I also received him in my apt for 1 1/2 years, me caring for him really well, till he decided to go abroad.)

Should I tactfully mention to him at least this 95$. Well, neither to him nor to me is this amount a problem, financially speaking, but to me it turned into a matter of principle in my mind.

Thanks..

Edited by Fleiss
Edition
  • Author
I would kindly say, Well, you know, I had another $95 and truly can't afford to pay it.

He knows I can afford an amount of 95$...Should I say something like: "Well, maybe my sister forgot to let you know, but we had an extra 95$ incurred"? I am bit afraid he might convey the exact words to her, and both feel somehow displeased, no matter whether I receive the money back or not..

Or maybe finding the right moment and tactfully saying to him: "Oh, how we had to pay an extra 95$ on the interview day..Mum (i.e.my sister) told you, right?

Edited by Fleiss
I am bit afraid he might convey the exact words to her, and both feel somehow displeased, no matter whether I receive the money back or not..