My mom wants my sister to visit, but has nothing to say to her!

Mapper71

I can’t understand my Mom’s mindset. She has seen my sister twice about 25 years. My sister came up to visit shortly after I graduated college back in 1995 and then again came up for my wedding in 2010. My mom was always upset that she quit college after a year and moved away with a guy she was dating when she was 19 and he was 28. My mom and her used to be pretty close until then. She has never tried to like the guy. They have been married for 35 years now and my mom still doesn’t like to talk about him and avoids saying his name. My sister calls her on Mother’s Day and Christmas and that’s it because she doesn’t like talking to her because it’s hard to have a real conversation with her. All they end up talking about is the weather and what they are watching on tv or something like that. Only talk twice a year and my mom can’t really “talk” to her. Well my mom doesn’t talk about the guy I’m married to either. It’s like she has something against the guys we married but thinks every other guy is great.

Well she keeps complaining that my sister will go everywhere but come up and visit her. Well, it’s extremely boring at her house. I visit once a year and just about lose my mind with boredom. My sister doesn’t want to spend her vacation to go up and visit someone who barely speaks to her or gets upset when she and I spend too much time together. My mom complains about my sister never coming up to visit, yet my mom has never been down to visit her.