Broken in half, missing my best friend

I started dating my husband March 20, 1998, married on October 2, 1999. No kids, by choice. On March 11, 2013 we had an argument and he stomped off to work. Not much worse than the occasional argument we had. That evening, over dinner, he told me that our marriage was over & that he has been unhappy for over a year. We had just had a romantic trip to Napa 2.5 mos before.

He denies that there is someone else & moved out March 23. That night he said, "I love you, but I'm not in love with you." It made me sick & made me suspect there's someone else, even though he denies it. My dad cheated on my mom, so I know that anyone can, at anytime. I never did, never even considered it. I married at 30, fully intending to stay married for life & grow old with me.

One of the worst things is that I'm a therapist. He's not willing to consider marriage counseling. How did I miss that he's been unhappy for a year? What kind of wife and therapist can I be???

Little bit of background, maybe to make sense of this...for me. He has always been employed brokering food or wine to grocery stores and been successful. In the past 4 years, he has tried to make a career as a financial advisor, with 2 big firms, before quitting a job when his salary was way down at the 2nd firm, to go join a woman running an independent firm...without knowing what or if she was going to pay him. I said it sounded like a bad idea, but I got called, "unsupportive". Long story short, new boss only pays him $500 per new account since his F.A. license is still parked with the big firm, but is willing to split the $10,000 cost to move it to her firm. Consequently, he's made about $3000 for all of 2013.

I know he's unhappy with his career and the place he's in and even suggested he is depressed and not thinking clearly.