Loss of a Parent

Mr Scorpio

I have plenty of experience w/ breakup coping and NC and all that comes with it. I've been thru the longing, the second chance, and the second break-up. Sadly I've also got plenty of experience with the loss of a parent. And now I have more.

My father passed away sometime in the early morning hours yesterday. I found him while making (what I thought) would be a quick visit. His passing was not shocking as his general health was poor. But there were no indications anything in particular was amiss.

Fortunately I have good friends and family close by who will be able to offer me support. Unfortunately I have no siblings or partner. I am very much adrift and a few months away from 40.

For right now I'm still numb and in shock. Don't think I slept at all last night. Haven't eaten since yesterday morning (I need to get on that).

To those of you who are hurting from the loss of a romantic partner, please take a moment to appreciate your friends, your family, and your parents. Listen to the cliches: if you love someone tell them you do. Also, remember that life is short. It is fine to be in pain from a broken relationship. But remember that time is not guaranteed. Don't miss out on life.

Thank you for reading.

• Like 2

Mr. Scorpio

I am so sorry about the death of your beloved father. Please accept my condolences.

Both of my parents passed when I was in my early 40s. As an only child without children of my own I understand your sense of loss. I felt very adrift, like my anchor to the world was gone & I didn't know where I fit. I still hate the holidays, especially Christmas.

You will find your way but it may take time. Lean on friends & extended family as you move forward. My friends got me through. Work helped me remember where & how I fit in the world. Their deaths also turned me back to Church which was my greatest source of strength, comfort & belonging.

I wish you peace.

• Like 1
Eternal Sunshine