Break NC to save money?

Gottabestrong

Gottabestrong

My PC crashed last week and now I need to get a new computer. I realized that buying all the necessary software is going to cost me about 400 dollars.

I asked around but no-one among my friends or family has what I need. The one person I know who has it for sure is my ex, who is a software engineer and usually has software before it hits the general market.

He broke up with me 10 months ago and I have been doing NC successfully for over 4 months now. He has sent me a few messages since then, but I managed to ignore them all. The breakup was amicable but I decided I needed the distance to get over him.

Now I am wondering if I should ask him to lend me the software I need. I would expect him to have no problem with it. But on the other hand I am not sure I am able to face him and if seeing him would cause a relapse. Right now I am doing quite well and have been happy for some time now.

So am I making a mistake if I break NC to save a few hundred dollars? Did I mention that I am a poor student?

dreaming4ever

Is there any way you could get the software without seeing him? Like send him an email about it and ask him to drop it in your mailbox or something? That might work...I just broke up with my bf of 2 years and I'm going to text message him so that I can get all my stuff back from his house and I'm going to get him to bring it to my house when I'm at work....something like that might be good for you since you said you're doing so well right now.

• Author
Gottabestrong
Originally posted by loony

What kind of software do you need?

Antivirus, Firewall, anti-adware, MS Office, Money, Flash, Dreamweaver, ... the usual I guess.

I was thinking about asking him to post it to me, so I would not have to see him in person, or to pick it up at his place when he is not there, but I am not sure he would agree. As he does not live far away from me, mailing it or sending it via a joint friend would be an inconvenience.