Painful unrequited love

nostromo

Hey guys, I'm trying to deal with an extremely difficult situation and I was looking for some advice. I apologize for this post's length, this story spans a long time. I am a recent college graduate who has in and out of a few relationships that never really meant much to me. My sophomore year, I met a girl a year younger than me, who I'll call Sally, through my swim team, and I was immediately attracted to her.

However, she was very focused, driven and introverted, and I never thought she would go for me. There was also a stigma associated with dating other team members, as any relationship (including one I had previously) that ended would cause lots of tension on the team and put both people in daily close proximity, so I put pursuing her out of my mind.

I became fast friends with her though, and early in my junior year my housemate asked me about her and if her could ask her out. My housemate (who I am not longer on good terms with) was not I would consider relationship material, as he would constantly hook up with random girls and never commit. I thought the two of them together was totally bizarre, but I said that it was okay. This date rapidly turned into a relationship, but I knew it was doomed from the start. Sally had never been in a relationship before, and my housemate treated her poorly and they would fight frequently.

My housemate would frequently drink and party and complain about how busy she always was, even though she tried to balance everything for him. He would complain to me all the time about her, and I tried to stay neutral, even though I wanted to beat him for the way he talked about her. Sally spent a semester in Europe and my housemate went to South America, despite his constant complaints they stayed together.