What's a good way to get over an engagement breakup?

Hey guys - I was doing a little searching about suicidal tendencies after a breakup and ran into this little forum. While the emasculate design was a bit off-putting, a little bit of reading made it clear that it might help me to post some things on here.

I'm aware that my situation isn't one-of-a-kind or original, but it still hurts just as badly. I've never been a social person; you could almost say I'm a misanthrope. I've seen so many people screw each other over, go out to party and sleep with random men and women (I have never drank or smoke and never intend to), and I've even seen someone kill another person because of a careless disregard of traffic laws - you get the idea that I don't have a good view of people in general.

For the longest time, I was a model student; I did great in class, made top grades, and was respected by practically everyone for being a good person. That doesn't mean that I had a lot of friends, and I was always a very shy guy - I never had a 'real' relationship until I was out of high school. What's even sadder is that my most meaningful one started out online.

Back in '08, I met a nice girl while playing an online game. We shared many similar characteristics - no reason to list 'em all out, though. It only lasted four months at the time, however; she decided that she couldn't handle the demands that a long-distance relationship could bring. I was obviously distraught, as we fit together very well (I can honestly say there wasn't any trait of hers I truly disliked other than her ability to completely turn cold and ignore me after she changed her mind). I got over it within a week or two, found a new job, etc.