Laid off -- did it cause your breakup?

Chitowngirl

So things started getting ugly between me and my ex when I got laid off. I eventually became depressed, hopeless, resentful and confused about my future. I needed a lot of help to fix myself, so when we started fighting I was too drained to care. I wanted out because I couldn't even handle myself. I just couldn't deal with it all. I felt INSANE.

I look back and wish I had a better career. I wish I made $45-55k like all my friends in their late 20s do. I have a bachelors and was making $38k when I got laid off. I felt like a loser in life. Now,I've discovered my passion and am going back to school for my masters. Unfortunately it will take me almost 4 yrs to complete this. So I won't be set in a new career until I'm early 30s. I am incredibly happy I am excited about my future, but think, "what if I had had this career while dating him..would things have been different?" Anyone else think that?

Has anyone ever felt if they had a better job, that they'd have easier, less stressful relationships?

I would like to think it was one of the primary contributing factors to my last breakup...and not me...

My ex had already been out of work for a few months when we started dating...and during the time we dated, she didn't have much luck finding a job...she claims that it really stressed her out and put her in a position where she wasn't ready for a serious relationship (even though we were planning to get married...) where she didn't even know where she was headed in life...

In hindsight, I agree with her...it wasn't the right time...she wasn't where she wanted to be in her career and in her life, so I guess it just wasn't the right time to add someone else to that life...and I respect her for that, I guess...

But I do still miss her a hell of a lot...and yes, I still think about it...whether we'd still be together if she had her career and life where she wanted it... :(

• Author