What have I done?

polyglot girl

polyglot girl

Hi everyone.

Ten years ago, I was a student in St Petersburg Russia. I met a boy there. We were both teenagers. He was a local Russian guy...somehow despite the low level of my Russian, we communicated. It was not a sexual relationship, but intense and powerful nonetheless. I got to know his mom very well too...they took me in almost like a family (they are very close). He and I spent a lot of time sitting on the canal edges, enjoying the white nights, smootching a bit, holding hands and talking (well, me mainly listening).

I saw him a few more times over the years when I'd come to St Pete. We exchanged letters too. Finally I learned he was in jail, and then I decided not to contact him anymore. I figured that after being in a Russian jail his spirit would have been broken and I just didn't want to see him like that. (incidentally, he was just waiting for a court date for 3 years, and when he finally went to court they let him free saying he was the wrong guy).

Well, I was back in St Pete in 1999, and one of his friends saw me on the street and told him I was in town. The next day, as I was walking past the place where we'd met back in 1992 I heard my name being called out. I turned back...and there he was.

He just *knew*, he said, that I'd walk past. He took me to his home and his mom, as usual, cooked us lunch. He was extremely hurt that I had not tried to call him. It was a brief visit, and at the end when I asked "may I take your pic?" he said, "Just remember me the way I was", kissed my cheek, and took off. Like a movie or smth.

Now I was back in St Pete last week. I did not keep in touch with him at all since 1999. I still remembered his number, and I called him. His mom was sooooo happy to hear from me. "he's not married, are you? call back in an hour, he just went out for a bit!"