Break ups are difficult

notthatintome

I was happily married for 13 years. We split because he was an alcoholic and I had an affair. We had a wonderful relationship aside from his drinking and i really admired him as a person. i fought for our marriage for a long time before I gave up and i took the easy way out.

I fell head over heels in love with the guy I had an affair with. Looking back it was the dream i fell in love with and not so much him. I wanted a life that was free from alcohol (the guy i had an affair with did not drink).

I realised i am not very good with break ups and them being final. I seem to cling on even though it is not good for me.

I started a new life with this new man in a new town where i did not know anyone and far away from family. I wanted him and my dream that much and nothing could get in my way. But i felt so guilty about my ex husband that i felt i didn't deserve to be happy. After time and several times very heated arguments, me and my affair man split and i moved out. The parting argument was so bad that he became violent and visibly marked me. I moved out the next day. I don't think he ever truly loved me.

I have found that break up to be difficult. I had sacrificed so much to be with him and the dream was over and I was alone; battered and bruised. It has been a difficult six months to say the least and i still have residual feelings which im trying to let go but they are still there.

Since my ex husband has moved on and is happy with his new girlfriend and rightly so. I am that person who regrets leaving but i have to remind myself about how unhappy i was over his drinking. Seeing them together hurts. It made me realised my failings.