He loves someone else, is it okay to still love him?

Okay so be prepared for some back story.

*names have been changed for privacy

I’m a sophomore in high school. Earlier this year I started dating a guy named liam, he was a junior had been known as a “f*boy” loved his car and was a sax player in marching band with me. At the time, I had just been broken up with at the end of the year (I stated dating liam in late August) and he had been flirting with me dispite already having a girl, I told him it was her or me, he broke up with her and we starting dating soon after.

Fast forward to the beginning of the year, everything had been going great it was like a dream first day of school though when he’s driving me home he tells me about a girl named Emma, a foreign exchange student from Italy. She has a crush on him. I of course immediately don’t like her, but liam kept promising me he’d never leave me for her, she was leaving at the end of the year after all. Now, over time, I could see he was starting to like her, our relationship had gone over some obstacles lately and I was scared he’d leave me, after all a lot of people rumored he was cheating on me with her.

I talked to him about it, and he said he could never speak to her again if I wanted him too, I realize now I should have said yes more then anything, but I said no because his last friends moved away and I didn’t want him without someone to talk to other then me. Couple weeks around Christmas (few weeks after he asked) he started getting distant and I got worried, then he texted me day of Christmas break to tell me that he wanted to take a break, that he loved me and I’ve made him happy.