Do dumpers ever realize their own mistakes??

Alright...so here goes. Apologies for the length! ...I'm new at this :/

1.5 months ago, I broke up with my boyfriend of 6 months. We'd been friends in grad school and fell in love while we were with other people.

After we had both broken up with our respective others (1 year ago this month), we dated until November when I expressed my interest in making things official. We broke up because he "needed time alone to think"....right...

He wrote me a long heartfelt email about how much I mean to him and how he wants to be with me but that he needs to be single and grow up before settling down forever. (?) Well, from November to January, we kept seeing each other and sleeping together..but nothing was official. How stupid. Never do this. It severely drops your value in anyone's eyes.

In January, he found out through someone else that I was going on a date, and couldn't bear that. He made things official and we dated for almost 6 months.

During this time, I found out he lied about how many people he'd been with while we were apart and a couple of other things. Because of how we began (as an affair), I had an extremely tough time trusting him and we began fighting. I definitely should've either recognized I'd not be able to trust him and left OR tried to trust harder(/better?). Even though he'd apologized and said he'd do anything to regain my trust, I never felt as though this was a big priority and he soon became annoyed with the questioning (I'd try to do it in a constructive way, not attacking). He said he felt "confined" as to who he could talk to. This surprised me since I'd never told him or given any hint to him about anyone he couldn't talk to. I think a big issue was my insecurity that he'd done something.