Having a hard time moving on...

I dated this guy for just about 6 months before he recently decided to end things. To give background on the situation, i'd known him since 2013 and we would talk/flirt occasionally but that was about it. There was a time that we fell out of contact for about a year, however, we reconnected when I ended up becoming employed at the same place that he was working at. At that time though, both him and I were in relationships so although we still would chat as friends from time to time when we would cross paths at work, we never went past that. From the very beginning of knowing each other though, we always had insane chemistry to the point where we could stay on the phone for over 4 hours at a time with each other daily, send incredibly long text convos, etc. We just had a lot in common.

After about a year of working together, I ended up leaving the job in order to attend medical school (I am a first year medical student currently) and after leaving he reached out to me as he had ended things with the girl he was with at the time and after sometime we began officially dating. Although as stated above, we always had incredible chemistry there were some major bumps in the road. For instance, in the beginning he had a habit of disappearing for over 6+ hours during the day after we would be facilitating conversations via text. This wouldnt of bothered me if i didn't notice he was active on social media during those times. However, after pointing this out to him as something that would bother me he did change and became more consistent as far as communication was concerned, even making a point of calling me every day after he got off work. Other problems arose too though that made me second guess things, for instance, we would make plans to hangout and he would simply go missing. He did this at least 3-4 times in the 6 month period. One time he even told me he was 20 minutes away, only to disappear, ignoring my calls/texts and eventually sh