There's supposed to be 50 ways to leave your lover?

franksmith

Hi, I'm new to this so be gentle!

To cut to the chase, I've been living with my girlfriend for aprox 3 years but my feelings for her have been slowly ebbing for about 2 years and right now I know I dont love her and want to leave, bu tleavings the problem.

We've had problems before (I wont go in to them in detail now but you knowing them will give you a better idea I dont mind sharing, there just a bit long winded!), her with my family and her cheating on me. The first major problem we had over her not accepting my family ended up with me walking out, and when I returned that night I found her on the floor with a bottle of pills! This scared the bejesus out of me, and since then I've heard she has tried that before. After that I've wanted to leave a few times but the fact she might try and end it all worries me, I couldnt live with that on my consience.

Anyway now its really getting to me, I feel realy trapped and need to get out. She currently thinks everything between us is fine and I have now idea how to leave without her doing something stupid.

Any advice would be much apprtiated.

The bottle of pills story adds a worrying dimension to this. Very difficult situation when you're considering leaving her. I'd bring a third party into this, if at all possible - via relationship counselling. I'm not suggesting that you can talk yourself back into loving your girlfriend. If the feelings are dead, there's not much anyone can do. What I am suggesting is that you gently let her know that all is not well, and perhaps the two of you should see a counsellor. Could be it would even result in an improvement in your relationship? After all, it's never plain sailing (not that I'm suggesting it has been in the past, in your case - reading between the lines it sounds as if it's been quite messy).