Lost the Love of my Life and It's All My Fault -- Where Do I Go From Here

Hey everybody,

I've never done anything like this before, but it's been a month and a half, and I honestly don't know where to turn.

So right now I'm a sophomore in college and I started dating this girl near the end of my senior year in high school. I had just gotten out of a train-wreck of a two-year relationship with a girl who cheated on me multiple times, so going into my relationship with the new girl (we'll call her Ann), I wanted to keep everything casual. I had no intention of actually committing to anything - I just wanted a casual hook-up to get me through high-school.

But then, something changed. The more I talked to Ann, the more I realized that I liked her, loved her even, and I wanted to stay with her. It's hard to explain exactly what made me feel this way but I felt it, like I've never felt anything before. She was such a good girlfriend -- she was so devoted, and she really cared about me a lot, and I could trust her, like I'd never been able to trust anyone else. Plus she was, and still is, the prettiest person I've ever seen. She was way out of my league, and she was totally into me. It was the best situation I ever could have hoped for.

So, going into my freshman year, I stayed with her. Even though we were an 8 hour drive apart (she was still in high-school; she was a year younger when we started dating), we saw each other every month, talked/skyped constantly, and everything was pretty good. Sure, long distance put some mild strain on the relationship, but we made it all the way through, and I felt, at the end of the year, like we were closer than we ever had been. The plan was to stay together forever. We were both ready to commit long term.