Long-Distance Breakup- What Gives?

So this is my first time posting on here; I've read some of the threads, and I've been talking to my own friends and family, and I still need some advice I suppose.

So here's the story.

I've been dating this girl for a little over three years. Before her, I had dated my high school sweetheart through a just past half of our Freshman year of college, and we had a rough, long breakup that took nearly a year.

From the ashes of that relationship, me and this girl started dating. I guess it kind of took meeting her, and getting involved, for me to really get over the other girl.

The new girl, she is awesome. She has a great taste in music, is in shape, and there was little or no drama, and she is foreign to my friends (most of my group of friends all went to the same high school.) She was fun, and easygoing. We both were cool with each other doing our own thing.

Anyways, we dated from I guess from pseudo-officially (neither of us really know) late November 2005 until March 1st of this year. Over the years, we never had huge problems. I did however, complain to my parents, about our communication problems; she would be obviously mad about things, but would not tell me for a few days. Whenever she was mad at me, it was my fault. I know where I messed up, but overall, I wasn't a bad boyfriend, especially as I grew more, and grew more in love with her.

Speaking of being in love with her, she told me she was, perhaps 6 months in? I botched that. I told her she was sweet, and held her. It took me a month, I think, to say it back. It's not a commitment thing; I just didn't want to jump into saying that if I wasn't sure I meant it. I didn't want to make the same mistakes I had with the first girlfriend.