Can't let go--Need Help

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on the new forum, i used to post on the old one a lot though. Well, how do i begin?..Here goes..

I met this guy 2 years ago. We started off as a casual relationship, on his terms, saw each other occasionally, usually just to make out or what not. I really liked this guy and believed that one day things could possibly get more serious between us. I rationalized the situation and stuck it out. We continued to see each other of course and for the last two years we've been together. There have been numerous fights and incidents that have proved to me I have been with an a**h***. Alas though, I never left him.

As the months went on, our relationship became somewhat more serious. Funny thing, it took me a year and half to have sex with him (mostly because I was a virgin), and since we've been sleeping together since the beginning of 2002, he became more serious about me. Unfortunately, not serious enough for me. He was still a jerk to me and i wasn't treated the way I expected to be treated. Alas, again, I never left him although I tried many, many, many times..he would charm his way back into my life and my heart.