Slightly strange situation

BoristheSpider

BoristheSpider

Hi everybody. Thanks in advance for reading the below; I could really use some advice.

My fiancee and I have both been married before. My divorce was finalized 6-7 years ago, and my fiancee doesn't have her divorce yet. I proposed last summer, and she accepted. We live outside the US. All good so far.

We'd been planning on getting married early next year. To do that, obviously we'll need to get her divorce finalized (which shouldn't be a big deal; all the issues have been dealt with, all that's needed is the actual divorce, and I work in the legal industry so it can all be done with minimal expense).

A few months ago in Vegas, we got married, in the usual "Vegas fashion". Yes, she's technically still married where we come from, so it's technically bigamy and thus legally invalid, though it was still meaningful to us on an emotional level.

Anyway, until yesterday, our plan was to get her divorce here finalized, and then get married under the auspices of where we live, at the time of our intended wedding early next year. Yesterday, she tells me that she doesn't think we need to bother with the actual divorce, because as far as she's concerned her old marriage is in name only, the process will be a waste of time (and a small amount of money), and she doesn't want to have to acknowledge that she is still technically married to her ex or deal with it (he was abusive to her, and because there were two small kids from that marriage, he's still in our lives and creates drama from time to time). In short, regardless of the legalities, she and I are now married in every real and emotional sense, case closed. We'll still go ahead with the festivities early next year, but the marriage part need not occur.