Female friend talking to me about her relationship problems.

So I am somewhat new to my city and haven't really made any friends. Except one girl I talk to a bit online, and I don't know her all that well. She was at first a potential romantic interest as all our conversations have been on Okcupid. She mentioned she had a boyfriend and I wrote it off and just kept talking to her because I have been lonely and it's nice to talk to someone. She has recently been complaining about her boyfriend. Last week she admitted that she hated him, without prompting, and said she had for a while but had just now begun to stop hiding it. Today she mentioned to me that she will leave him someday. I am not sure how I feel about this person, right now she is in the friend-zone. I am somewhat slow to respond to her texts, and have never been super emotionally available. When she talks about her bf negatively I tend to say something like "yeah it sucks you are going through that." Basically I just let her vent and listen, because I honestly don't know what to do with that info.

She is also sick, with MS, and relies on her boyfriend for day to day things like driving.

Dating is a low priority for me right now as my life is in a pretty hectic and stressful spot (I am back and school and not working so I have very little money) but I am open to the idea of a relationship. Should I start thinking of her as more than a friend? Is she potentially looking at me as a safety net and potential rebound if she leaves her bf, or is there a possibility for something real here? How should I proceed with her in a way that won't ruin our friendship? I am not sure how she feels about me, and am not sure why she is confiding this information in me.

Edited by hptalbot
  • Like 1

She has a boyfriend, you met on OKC, she's only a friend but you're asking if there's a possibility of something real?

What is something real?