What is the female view on friendships of the opposite gender

I am working on developing boundaries! I have little experience with single females being friends with single males.

This is what I understand to be the meaning of friendship, or what it involves. Friendship: affection, sympathy, empathy, honesty, altruism, mutual understanding and compassion, enjoyment of each other's company, trust, and the ability to be oneself, express one's feelings, and make mistakes without fear of judgment from the friend. Also friends tend to share common backgrounds, occupations, or interests, and have similar demographics.

I have been told by some female family members. That it is possible to be friends with the opposite gender.

I ask how is this possible?

It is my opinion that a being friends with a single female eventually will fail. I am not talking about being friendly to the opposite sex but having a healthy friendship. It is my view that the only way it is possible to be friends of the opposite sex, is if they are related to you, married, possible if they have a steady boyfriend, or if person friends with you is gay. Be a male gay friend from the female side or female gay friend from the male side. My view is that when a single male and female decide they are friends. One or the other has more feelings then they are willing to express. Which doesn't make it a friendship, but a future desire to become romantically involved.

I also think that a romantic relationship requires friendship even to call one another best friends. If true friends ship can be obtained with no romantic emotions by either male or female involved. How can it be obtained?

My last relationship involved being told I was a friend with benefits and sometimes just friends. I have little to no boundaries mind you. I did things with her that I wouldn't do with best friends. So I think that is all.

What is your opinion? What are the boundaries?