Does He Like Me? Should I Ask?

1confusedgirl

Hi ... I need help. Eep. I know this sounds simple or stupid or whatever, but as you'll see, I have NO experience in this department! So I could really use any advice you guys have for me.

Here goes. I'm 20, never had anything at all with a guy until this spring ... sort of a late bloomer/low confidence thing. I had a friends with benefits situation with a guy friend at my university for a couple months. Now it's over and I don't regret it, or want him back "that way." We both wanted to get experience, and still keep in touch.

So, what's my problem? During the time period we were hooking up, my FWB told me that another, mutual friend of ours liked me. I was really shocked!! I'd liked that guy since a few weeks after we met, but assumed I had no chance. We got to be pretty good friends, but after I did some reading, I guess the "signs" are all there and I was just a bit too blind to see them:

He is rather shy and unconfident, but he's such a sweetheart and a great friend. He invites me to dinner or other things - just the two of us - a lot, and in general we spent a lot of time together over the semester. One night he asked me about my childhood and we spent hours trading stories. We watched the same shows together almost every night and I helped him with a class. One day when we hung out he even went into a long discourse about what a jerk my FWB was to girls, and how I should be careful! The list goes on.

So he would do all these things I considered just friendly and my FWB would look at me pointedly and roll his eyes as if to say, "See?" Guy 2 asked me several times during term, "What's the deal with you guys?" but I always dodged the question.