Rules for having an affair???

So, I'm sitting here miffed once again.

Did I miss a memo or something? I feel as if I get punished/ignored when I am indignant with my married man. Is this "behavior" not allowed?! In my opinion, in order for any relationship (so to speak) to work, there needs to be communication. It seems that any time I "communicate" anything that doesn't have to do with talking dirty, regular small talk, or planning our next "date", he turns tail and goes silent!!!! I'm so tired of it. When the going gets tough.......

There's also a pattern of getting along REALLY well, he gets carried away, pledges his love etc and then disappears for a few days, then comes back and seems distant again. It's all so frustrating.

Is there a book of rules for having an affair? I have been doing this dance for 3 years now. How do you have a great time, then detach, then in love, then detached again?

I am sure that there is, there are plenty of threads on the typical behaviors of the MM and they all follow the template, more or less. The real question is: once you see how little you are really going to get, why would you settle for that?

Edited by a LoveShack.org Moderator
Unnecessary
  • Like 2
Is there a book of rules for having an affair?

No, but there's a book of rules for dealing with flaky, Push-Me-Pull-You men... and it boils down to one sentence: Don't put up with it!

• Like 3

Mine was like this. In the build up to seeing one another, lots of contact, messages etc...great time together, then distancing himself afterwards i.e. putting you back in his toy box.

Whereas I on the other hand was more connected for having seen him.

I put it down to this: he was more interesting in the fantasy element, whereas I was more interested in the realty, but then it never was real!