How to approach?

scottishfold

My bf and I have been dating for just a little over three years. I'm turning 30 soon, and he's 31. I work full time and in the process of graduating from school (got my BA degree 6 years ago but wanted to go back for something more), and he will be starting a new job in a couple of weeks. The relationship has been great, no fights, and see each other 4 nights a week. He's awesome, grounded, financially stable, mature, funny, and supportive. There's really nothing I can think of I could say poorly of him. He comes from a loving family, and he treats his parents very well. I'm lucky to have him.

Now I have an issue though that's come up after these three years that has been on my mind. I've been renting my apartment for 5 years, which I absolutely love. I enjoy living on my own, the privacy, comfort, and it's in walking distance to my current job. Throughout our relationship, he has always been the one to say things like "when we get our own place..." and always speaking about living together. I said it would be nice too but never gave it too much thought since I didn't see it happening anytime soon. Now that he's got this new job, he's planning on buying his first home. When he started talking about the house, he would say like "we can go half in on it and get a bigger place," but he knows I don't have enough money on a down payment, but my current income is just fine. But, more importantly, I told him that I wouldn't live with someone unless we were engaged or married. I told him that buying a place is a huge commitment, and that I enjoy living on my own, but that I would love to live with him if we went that way.