Unrealistic expectations?

My bf and I were in an LDR for the first few months (him in my home state, me at college). We met at Xmas 2009 when I was home for the holidays, and when I graduated in summer 2010 I moved home to be closer to him. I lived with my parents briefly until I found a job and got my own place - at that point we hadn't really dated for long enough to consider living together.

Now we've been dating properly since summer 2010 when I came home, and we're still living separately. He says it's pointless to discuss any issues relating to the future of our relationship because living together and other stuff isn't on the cards yet - we've been dating properly since summer 2010 and have known each other for longer, but we're still at the stage where he stays over one night a week and we spend a couple evenings together during the week.

So my first question is: How far into a relationship do most people consider living together? Are we far enough along, or is he right in saying that it's still too early to discuss our future?

I have some concerns about living together though. My girlfriends say why would he buy the cow if he's getting the milk for free? I read some articles online that said people who live together are more likely to get divorced later on. Plus I think it's really starting our relationship off on the wrong foot if we move in together without any commitment and just see how it goes, with the assumption that it's just a try out and either of us might walk away.