End of a 1.5 year long LDR relationship and seeking guidance

Hello readers. I've got a story for you today, and this one's for the ages. I'm optimistic that someone can give me some insight on my situation and what to do from here on out. I posted this earlier in the Breaks and Breakups subforum, but I think it would be better placed here, since you all have been in my shoes.

So, despite being a college student, I still very much love Pokemon. I took an interest into the competitive scene a few years back and began attending tournaments across the country. After meeting a friend at a Regional, he convinced me to take the drive to Indianapolis that year for Nationals, and while I was there, I met a girl that would eventually become my best friend and girlfriend. Fun fact; we actually didn't rub each other the right way when we first met, in fact, I hated her guts. But despite that, it was her birthday the day of the competition and was too busy playing in top cut to celebrate, so I got her a cake. A few months later, we decided to become friends and grew close.

One of the catalysts that brought us together in the first place was the mutually terrible places our lives were at. She had just recently been dumped by her first serious boyfriend of almost 2 years that she intended on marrying and gave her virginity to, as I was living in an abusive household with no clear end in sight. We became close friends and after a month or two, I was beginning to develop small feelings, sort of like a little crush you'd get in high school. All of a sudden, though, she told me she had found a new boyfriend, and I was both happy for her but a little upset at the same time. I was very immature at this stage of my life; I lacked foresight and would often fall apart at even the smallest of problems, like not having a date to this dance or not having many friends. She told me later down the road that I was a child at best, but that's irrelevant.