Desperate for a solution

Hello everyone,

I'm new to these kind of forums so bear with me here. I'm just absolutely desperate and need to find some kind of solution, and fast, if possible.

I have been dating my boyfriend for about 2 1/2 years, one of those being long distance (5 hours). I was blessed enough to get to go to the school of my dreams on scholarship pursuing the major that I've always wanted to. He got to follow his dreams of being a collegiate athlete at a division I school. Both of these are great things, but made it difficult for us to go to school together. We got to see each other about once a month but each time was only for about 2 days. Now here we are; after our freshman year of college, about to leave for sophomore year.

He is wonderful. He is kind, funny, intelligent, fun, adventurous and perfectly a gentleman to me. We share the same viewpoints on all of the important things, and we know we're spending our life together so simply breaking up is not an option. Even though we try our best to keep busy, make new friends, and see new things, both of us are ultimately miserable apart from each other. We spent the majority of the year trying to find a way to be together, but failed. Over the course of the year, I have fallen into a deep deep depression that just I just can't come out of. I know I sound absolutely pitiful but when you know you're with the person you will spend your life with, it's hard to know you're wasting four years apart from each other.

I can't transfer to his school because the major program I'm involved in is not good at all there. He can't transfer to mine because the sports team he would join is absolutely terrible, which would eliminate his chances of being a professional athlete. We've tried to look at other schools together, but no one offers transfer academic scholarships so I couldn't afford it. The schools closer to either of ours are not options.

Any ideas for a solution or simply comfort?