6000 miles away and badly in love

Hey everyone,

I am a 24 y/o guy from Finland and, like the title says, I have fallen badly for a girl who's now living 6000 miles away in Singapore. It's a long story (or quite simple actually..) so I'll try and keep it short.

So, I'm a university student and spent my 2012 autumn semester as an exchange student in South Korea. During the exchange I met this girl from Singapore, who was also there as an exchange student - so we often ended up into same exchange students' gatherings and parties. When I first met her, she made a really lasting impression to me even though we only exchanged a few sentences that time and since then she's been more or less on top of my mind for the last 6 months.

It took some time for me to find the courage to ask her out for a date, that was within the first month we arrived to Korea. I didn't have any expectations from us back then because we only had a rather brief period of time left together in Korea, about 3 months that is. We had a few nice dates from then on and saw each other a lot, almost daily. I started liking her more and more.

Towards the end of our time in Korea, she confessed that she has feelings for me. I also told her that I had really fallen for her. We had many long talks about us during the last few weeks, but it was inevitable that after the semester she would go back to Singapore and I would go back to Finland. We are both rather shy, maybe for different reasons however. So, we didn't start a full-on long-distance-relationship but neither wanted to end things between us just to remain friends. So I don't know what to call it, maybe a kind of an open relationship.