Insight on my pen pal and our "friendship"

I've been talking to my penpal for 2 months she's very shy but has been comfortable sending messages to me we have the sam interests and tastes so we have great conversations. We're both keen on the idea of meeting up we are from different countries but I brought up the idea of meeting and hanging out for a day or two and she was really great with the idea of that. well I have family in California and they'd like me to visit and I'm an hour away from her city where my family lives I'm in London England and i could be in California in April. She's 17 and im 24 but i see her as a good friend even though i have a slight crush. Her mom is kinda weird about me even being in California so seeing her so it could be unlikely but my penpal said maybe....she could work something out. Shes not very flirty in her messages although she contacted me first after reading my profile and seeing my photo in a penpal website. I think she's fond of me at least. Any opinions on whether she likes me ? when she's 18 and if we're still talking I'd definitely like to see if anything could blossom. Would you think its worth it pursuing this girl even though we're far away?

Edited by JMAY24
Too lengthy in previous post not relating to correct forum topic
She's 17 and im 24 ... Her mom is kinda weird about me even being in California

I know it seems like the perfect opportunity to see her being that you have family 1 hr away from where she lives. But you've only talked to her for 2 months, she's 17 and you are 24 ... I can see why her mother might be freaking out even if it is totally innocent!!! Wait until she's 18 to meet. You haven't been talking long and you are just friends right now anyways. Cultivate that friendship and if in a year from now you're still talking to her, make a visit to see those family members in California :)

• Like 3