Her Family and a LDR

I recently proposed to a wonderful woman that I have known for 15 years. We went to highschool & college together. During that time we were always close friends and several times we dated for short times. In college we became very serious for a year, but she eventually chose drugs over me and the relationship was over.

Many years passed and we found eachother again. She is clean and I am very proud of how she has turned her life around. We have been seriously involved in a LDR for several months. We both talked about marriage and that spurred me to propose. She accepted and everything has been going well until recently.

She lives in Kentucky and I in Washinton state. We both have achieved MBA's and we both have very fruitful careers. She is a school teacher and I am a computer network engineer.

The issues started when her family began to interfere with our relationship. Her family have placed a huge load of guilt onto her shoulders that she cannot carry. Since they are her family she places more emphasis on her relationship with them that she does with me. In essence they have more value that I do. They tend to control her life. She does not make any decisions (no matter how insignificant) without their approval.

We had planned for her to move when her teaching contract expired at the end of this school year. In the area where I live it would be nothing for her to get a very good teaching position at one of the many school systems. There is a huge shortage of teachers. In the area where she lives there are no computer related positions available that would allow me to provide for a family.

Her family have place such guilt on her potential move saying things like 'We would die if you move.' that she has changed her mind and is now questioning our relationship (and engagement) based on her family's selfishness.