anyone, anyone

allwaysdreaming

Hi, new here but need some advise, perspective or just a kick in the ass. I have been married for 11 years and have two children under ten. I am a surgeon in a small office and my nurse initiated an affair with me 4 mos. ago. I was reluctant at first but gave in to her advances. She is 25 years younger than myself. My marriage was and is stagnant at best. My wife an I have not had sex in over 6 mos, she has absolutely no interest anymore. Our anniversaries are not even celebrated anymore. I am a very romantic person and I tried to reignite the fire, but she did not respond. Anyway, the affair has recently become derailed because of something I said. I told her that I would like to get a divorce so we could be together. She told me that she did not want to break up a family. I explained that the problems were there before her and that she is not breaking up the family. Unfortunately, I have fallen in love with this woman and she claims the same thing. I get so many mixed views from her though, it leaves me banging my head against a wall. She will say :she loves me more than anything", being with me is the best thing that has ever happened to her, she wants to be with me everyday, etc. etc. But if I bring upi being together she says she :"doesn;t want to hurt me", "she needs to be alone". WTF! I just cant figure it out. I told her my wife and I have had discussions about a seperation and we have. But its as if my mistress wants me to stay married and just have the affair? I just do not know what to do. We obviously work together 5 days a week and it is torture. I try not to even look at her, since it brings my emotions into play. I am a ****ing mess, will somebody just tell me how to deal with this daily mess. I appreciate any feedback, no matter how harsh or compassionate.

ExpatInItaly