I'm New to flirting - How do I start?

Ciao Bella!

It's a pleasure to finally find a site where I can hopefully speak with experienced people about this mind bobbling question that I can't seem to crack. Where do I start if I'm new to flirting? That's the question that has really drove me nuts for some time. Now just to get this out of the way, I'll just give you folks enough details about myself just so yous can atleast get a vague image of me.

Originally from Brooklyn, New York, I live in West Virginia. For heritage, I come from an Italian-American & Spaniard family; To add on to this, we're also pretty loud people if you don't already know about us Italians lol... For education, I'm a 16 year old sophomore student who goes to highschool. People often tell me I have a "New York" accent which is quite obvious to me and most of my peers. However, I often get demoralized since I've read online that my accent can be perceived as an illiterate and uneducated dialect. So, sometimes I just try to hide it. (Not quite too uplifting for me). Anyhow, being Sicilian & Spanish, I'm rather shorter than most and measure in at around 5 ft 5 feet. So, I'm not too tall but not quite short. This often keeps me from flirting since I see most girls my height going for taller guys.