My date suggested we "take a step back" as friends.

Retr0spect

Hey there.

It's my first time posting here but I'm a long time lurker.

A short sketch of the situation: about two and a half months ago, I met an amazing girl online on Tinder. We started chatting for hours on end in the days following, we went on several dates before we kissed. Some dates after we first had sex.

Context: Both her and I came out of relationships around the same time. Mine lasted 2,5 years while hers was 6 year long with her first boyfriend. They broke up amicable and said they are still friends but she was over him.

Most of the weeks after the initial phase, we'd visit each other (we live quite some distance apart), go to the movies. We cooked for eachother and always had a good and intimate time. She met my friends, I met some of hers and we did a small city trip together. Around that time I confessed I didn't mind being boyfriend/girlfriend to which she said she wouldn't mind either. What I noticed about it all is that it all went rather organically, and nothing ever felt forced. Though some things could be considered "accelerated" (she met my parents), even though they did not feel that way. Not to me or her, as far as I know, in that moment.

However, very recently, we started chatting less, my internship started and her school break ended so I didn't really make a thing out of it at first. However, a little later I did notice a change in "mood", not being brought on by school or anything. When I brought it up, the converstion eventually flowed to her saying she's having a hard time to open up emotionally and that she did not expect it to be this way. A matter of 'wanting to but I can't.'. She mentioned her long ex-relationship might also be a reason. She suggested we'd take a 'step back and get to know each other better, but as friends".