Trouble Letting Go

PJ3040

I dont usually do these kinds of things but I thought it might somewhat help if I at least write about it or tell someone.

So me and my girlfriend have been going out for a little over three and a half years. We began going out in highschool and I am now in my second year of college and she is now in her first. This was my first and really my only girlfriend. She was a bit on the nerdy side but I still think shes the most beautiful girl. She doesn't go out much or party, she doesn't really like drinking or any of that stuff. Shes really smart and caring. Anyways, The first two years we went out, it was great. It was probably the happiest time of my life and I felt like I would never really love someone as much as I loved her. We spent almost every single day with each other. It was about the end of the second year things began to get shaky. We did argue a lot about me being with friends once in a while and they would sometimes get into heated arguments but we would get over it. This was about the time I was going into my first year of college. The school I go to is kind of a pseudo-militaristic school. Anyways, My school is really close to where we live so she was still able to come and see me a lot. But around April of this year, closing my first year of college, our school required us to go onto a training cruise for two months, where it would be very difficult for us to even talk. The night I boarded the ship to leave, I remember we stood at the gangway of the ship and we held each other for at least 10 minutes. I didn't want to let her go. But eventually I did. So while I was gone, I would email her here and there when I was able to. During this time, her senior year was ending and I guess she began to get more involved and started hanging out with different people. So time went on and about midway through the cruise, she began to email me about how things are feeling different and that she doesn't know if we should really be togethe