Is he a COMMITMENT PHOBE?

billion

Hi everyone!

I'm just out of a 4 years relationship (see my other post in Breakups called 'I really need a reality check' for a detail of the situation if interested).

I am just beginning of getting the bigger picture, some clarity about what happened and I think I might have been in a relationship with a commitment phobe. What do you think?

Here are some characteristics of the guy:

- Very handsome 42 years old man

- Tall and very athletic

- Always involved in what appears to be complicated relationships (we were long distance at first (America/Europe), he has been involved with married women in previous relationships)

- His relationships never lasted very long and after he was 27, he never lived in an apartment with a woman.

- We lived 2 years long distance (seeing each others every 2 months) and 2 years in my apartment (he moved to be with me). During the 2 years we lived together, he got back to France for 3-4 weeks at the time to visit his friends and family (Ugh! - without me because I was working)

- He always finds a way to retract from the relationship, doing separate activities

- He is very secretive (with his phone, computer, etc..)

- He has cheated on some girlfriends

- He is very seductive and seeks validation from other women through seduction

- He obviously lacks self confidence and needs a lot of validation that he is desired

- This man could never look me in the eyes for a long time, mostly in the beginning of the relationship, he wouldn't want to lock eyes with me, saying it was 'strange'! I always lock eyes with my lover because it feels so great. It felt weird!

- He has a twin brother (don't know if that helps!)

- At one point, he moved in with me and the day he brung his things, we got a fight, he was very uncomfortable about the situation (anxiety due to closeness?)

- I always felt he had a foot in and a foot out of the relationship door

- He wanted to do things on its own, be very independant