A Single Mother and Me.

MixedMinh

My girlfriend and I have been together for a little over a year. Romantically, things are excellent. There's only one thing about the relationship that we are conflicted with, and that is, being a family. She has a 3 year old son and I am involved in his life, but not very much. I see her once a week on average. She also only stays over twice a month, sometimes three or four if I'm lucky. She works two jobs, she also lives at home with Mom, and is currently living paycheck to paycheck. Fridays are our day together. Two Fridays out of the month his father takes him, which gives us the overnights. I'm 28 years old. I am a pizza delivery boy. I am studying to become a certified personal trainer(I'm not studying as much as I should but I'm changing that). I make enough money at my job to get by, but not really enough to save. The majority of my saved money comes in through playing poker. I used to play poker for a living(only source of income). I did it for two years without a job successfully(successfully meaning averaging $18/hr over 3,000 hours of play) and have been playing for 9 years.. To me, poker is a job, to most of my friends, i'm just having fun/or gambling. This is relevant because she's been a little uncomfortable with me playing poker, as it's an unorthodox way to make money and she understands it very little. I'm trying to better my life. I had an unfortunate experience post-high school that included the death of my mother and being a homeless college dropout. I've exhausted my financial aid opportunities and now I have loans to pay back before I can even consider going back to school. I'm a bit overwhelmed as to how to better my life, but I am very much into fitness and thought getting certified as a personal trainer would be a good investment. Here's our dilemma: