observations and stereotypes, young women and young men, locations and cultures, etc.

thatone

these threads brought all this to mind, i've been holed up at home with wisdom tooth removal and a busted knee for a couple weeks so i've got a lot of time on my hands and have read way too much loveshack, and reflected a bit on the cities i've lived in, rural areas i've lived in, and different areas of the country i have spent more than a week long work trip or vacation in.

fwiw, those areas are....

dallas

new orleans

little rock

st louis

rural arkansas

rural louisiana

rural texas

(never spent a lot of time in rural missouri or illinois)

and for the record i'm white and 34 years old, so i'm talking about white people in their early 20s to mid 30s here, i have no experience with the older crowds in these areas or the teenage crowd since that was so (soo...) long ago, or other races/ethnic backgrounds.

anyways, the idea that came to mind is we see a lot of generalizations about women and men on this forum, but we rarely see generalizations about the culture of particular areas of the USA, and i think that has a lot to do with dating and relationships.

first the rural