the latest in the saga

Foreign_Love

Foreign_Love

For those who don't remember my saga - here's a recap:

My GF is from Japan & suffers from quite a temper. Nearly eveveryone on this board said I should walk away from this relationship, but I just couldn't. I have a degree in psychology & I was certain I could make it work. We have been reading the book "How Loving Couples Fight" and have had great success in breaking down the problems of the past and have avoided recurrences for the most part. We were doing so well that we went to the town hall to apply for amarriage license. However, the day after doing that she got bad news from home.

Her ex-husband, who has custody of her daughter, apparently has been neglecting the daughter. He has been leaving her in daycare for 12-13 hours a day and has been teaching her some fairly racist things (he is not from Japan). This turned into a family emergency and now my GF is caught in the middle of it and I'm not sure what to do. She wants to stay here and get married, but she also wants to bring her daughter to live with us - something I had always thought was impossible (or at least something I was not expecting to happen for 3-5 years at the earliest). I am struggling with figuring out what to do.

I truly don't feel ready to accept a 5 year old child into my house for several reasons. I've never had kids or even been around them for any length of time - I have no experience. My income is extremely low right now - hovering just above the poverty level - I couldn't possibly care for another person and my GF can't work for 1-2 years (until she'd get her green card).