my best friend and my dad

SweetRB

Ok I am 23, almost 24. I have a real close friend that I grew up with. We met in the 3rd grade. We were best friends in elementary and high school. Then she moved away to Chicago for a couple years and then moved back with her mom when I graduated. After moving back we had a lot of catching up and we often would hang out together. My dad recently broke up with his psyco x-wife and I was bringing him along with me when I went out. He enjoyed going to clubs with me and hanging out with me and my friends and my boyfriend. We hung out for months. One night I asked my dad if he wanted to go to dinner and drinks and he said sure, can I bring my friend and I said go ahead and anyways to make a long story short. He told me he liked my freind and she like him and 2 weeks later they moved in with each other and now there living together. At first I thought It was ok, but after they got serious I just dont know. I still talk to my friend but its been a couple months and it bugs me still. When I see them together, I just feel they have nothing in common. I know how she is and I know how he is. Lately I havent been really talking to her. When I think about them being together it makes me not feel so good and I just wish it was how it use to be. Now that there serious I just dont know if I should just get over it or be mad or if I will ever get over it.?

That's a tough spot to be in and I'm sure pretty weird.

You must be unusually close with your dad that you would hang out together at clubs and such. That's a very special relationship. However, it probably also gets weird when your dad shares some of the same interests, hangouts and friends as you.

You will have to try and accept that your friend and your dad like each other. I know it's very very weird to think of them being intimate. Nobody likes to think of their parents in that way....especially not with friends the same age as their children!