What do you think of people like this?

purplesoccer34

purplesoccer34

I once had a friend who said something along the lines of, "At least person A has the right to be arrogant if he wants to, because he's a doctor. Person B is only a nurse, so what right does he have to be arrogant?" He'd also tell me, "I see absolutely no ambition in you because all you want to become a physical therapist. Your friend has no ambition either, because she wants to be a physician's assistant. Now if you guys were becoming doctors, I'd say you have ambition." He also said, "When I was in college, I knew I had other interests but I chose med school for the prestige. I had to have people respect me the way a doctor is respected. Anything less, and I wouldn't be happy." Sometimes when I ask him for a source when he states certain facts, he says, "Look you'll never accept anything unless you have solid proof, and you can't be that way all the time. I'm a doctor so I know what I'm talking about." This last one is the worst of them all: "Deep inside, everybody wants to become a doctor because of the prestige. It's like working in Hollywood--everybody wants it. The ones who choose other careers are the ones who know they can't handle med school. If someone gets into medical school, they absolutely will not choose anything else."

Now, I really don't know if he means everything he says but all these things made me pretty mad. Especially since I've known very intelligent people who've chosen to do other things in life. I know some great doctors, but this particular guy just seems weird. I respect every profession in the world equally--I don't think any person is above or below another. I completely lost it when he said these things.

He'd also say things like, "I can get any woman I want. Women secretly give me signs all the time. Many women tell me that I'm the best-looking guy they've ever met, so I can afford to be as picky as I want to be." He hasn't had a girlfriend in over 10 years.