How can men and women just be friends?

zakforsman

First let me introduce myself, my name is Zak and I'm an independent filmmaker. I've been lurking on these boards for a long time and have always admired the frank discussion in this community and the way everyone has come together to help each other out. i think it's really amazing. And a rare find on the internet.

Anyway, I'm working on a new project about a young woman and young man who are just friends, and nothing more. Basically, I have some friends... guy friends... who say that they have female friends that they never have had a single romantic thought about. And I find that a little hard to believe. I know the whole "When Harry Met Sally" thing is a cliche, but a lot of people think it generally holds true – that no heterosexual male can be friends with a woman and not take it to the next level if the opportunity presents itself.

Does anyone have a story about being in a friendship with the opposite sex that never inspired thoughts of "what if"? And guys, can you be friends woth a woman and not want to take it to a romantic place given the chance? I'm just looking for insight. :)

I had one friend who was been a longtime companion, and who I would have gone to the ends of the earth for.

Completely heterosexual, the only fly in the ointment was an ex-girlfreind who also refused to believe such a frienship was possible.

It was a frienship that spenned nearly 20 years of my life.... we separated when I moved to France with my family.

He's since died. He died of cancer.

He was 55.

I miss him every day.

Darn it.

Wanted to get back in and edit the typos.

Not usually so careless, but felt a bit tearful.....

I met him when I was a schoolkid, and he was a few years older....He was the son of a Security warden of a block of Flats. his mum was the general housekeeper and Receptionist.

They were a lovely family.