I am in my late 20s and I need to get a life....

I am in my late twenties...I live with my loving parents..but I am miserable inside. I graduated university last june with a BA degree and yet...I want to be a writer. My work has been published in my city's newspaper, and internationally..but...I am so unhappy...I guess I thought after graduating everything would fall into place... This year though my first book a collection of poetry was published...but I mean no one buys poetry...anyhow..my dream is to be a writer..and I have had work published in my country and abroad in America...but...things aren't going the way I want them to go. I had a job interview with a prominent newspaper in my city and yet...I didn't get that job..I turned down a job in Jan that paid $8 an hour for some internship...but I didn't want to do it...I guess now I learning the hard way that a BA degree means i have to start from the bottom up. I know what I want to do...its just that my attitude I think and my laziness is what holds me back. Its like why am I a snob? I am thinking of applying to a journalism program..and try to see...from there...and I have been to ten million job workshops for young people...its obviously me..Maybe I am insane or maybe I need to see a shrink? Or maybe I self loathe too much..I know I need a plan of action..to save some money and move out...but I guess I am struggling to get this plan together...

Bachelors degrees are the new High School degrees. You need to accept that you're going to have to start at the bottom. Take a starter job at a newspaper that you want to make connections at and move your way up.

btw, I'm in my late 20s and need to get a life too. i guess just different reasons :D

I think it is very cool that you have actually been published.

I think everyone starts to take stock in their late twenties as they approach *gasp* 30. You feel you haven't accomplished enough, aren't going anywhere, etc. It seems pretty normal.