I need some advice here...

I've been working at a clothing store for almost four months now. Well today for the first time I called in sick. I tried calling them from 8 a.m. but no one would answer. Finally at 9 a.m. my assistant manager answered & I informed her that I would not be coming in today due to sickness. Well she began to flip out at me. "Your calling me now? Your my opener!" I told her that I had been calling since 8 a.m. but no one would pick up. She then began to flip out saying that I should have called her letting her know that I wouldn't be in, so she would have more time to.. Call around to get someone in for the day to fill my position.. Well I did have her number.. But (a.) I never knew she was working the morning shift with me. (b.) Because of me not knowing she's going to be working with me that morning.. I wasn't about to call her house waking up everyone in her house-hold.. Then she began to go off saying I should have management's number just in-case this happens. I'm like. "Why are you flipping out at me?" I of course never said that.. But I felt like she was trying to make me feel guilty for being sick.

I just question did she handle the situation well?

This isn't the only problem I have had with them...