lost job to "an older woman" - what do you guys think of this

pathfinder5465

i was interviewed for a high caliber excutive secretary type of position in a civic/public agency. I have 20 years of experience in the workforce and have carried many executive positions and have a pretty qualified skill set. the position was what was called an "interim" one which is basically a temporary one (but for In-House temps). They interviewed two people. I was the first. the older woman was second.

i am not a sore loser about not getting the job. i think the thing that has been bothering me is that i always seem to make it as the second candidate and then ultimately everytime someone is hired they are older. this seems to happen repeatedly. i am not THAT young. i am 37 years old. i look about mid-20s. i feel lke this has been a continual detriment in my career hunt.

back to the story-finally yesterday, when i was turned-down the interviewer's said to me that "i interviewed wonderfully, i had impressive qualifications and WAS their #1 choice however the woman they decided on was just older and seemed like she could get along better unsupervised."

i felt really frustrated at this. i thought to myself all night "my qualifications were good but my age wasn't a fit?" isn't that ageism???? this morning on the advice of a friend i called the interviewer back once more. i told her i just wanted "to clarify something for future reference" then i asked her how old they thought i was. she proceeded to explain to me it wasn't neccessarily the woman's age but the fact that she had raised eight kids and been an entrepreneur herself.

an entrepreneur i can understand, and my respect to all mothers 1 kid, or 10, but some how it seems unfair to hire someone based on the assumption that they will function better in a sitution because god granted them a different life than someone else.

anyway, i feel really unsettled about this and discouraged too.

Originally posted by pathfinder5465